NoMa Underpass Design Competition

The NoMa Parks Foundation has announced the 10 finalists for the NoMa Underpass Design Competition. A distinguished group of artists, architects, lighting designers, and landscape architects representing three countries and seven cities across the United States have been selected. The finalists will be given an honorarium to further develop their conceptual designs to transform four underpasses into safe, inspiring and beautiful spaces:

  • Cinimod Studio + LDVC + Tall (London, UK)
  • Citelum (Washington, DC)
  • Future Cities Lab (San Francisco, CA)
  • Lancaster + Matthew Schreiber (Brooklyn, NY)
  • mikyoung kim design (Boston, MA)
  • Narduli Studio (Los Angeles, CA)
  • NIO Architects & Thurlow Small Architecture (Rotterdam, Netherlands & Pawtucket, RI)
  • Ray King (Philadelphia, PA)
  • Synthesis Design + Architecture & Moritz Waldemeyer (Los Angeles, CA & London, UK)
  • United Visual Artists (London, UK)

Final designs will be presented to the community in October. With community feedback in hand, the jury will select the winners by year-end. Installation of the winning designs will begin in 2015. The project is a partnership between the NoMa Parks Foundation, the District of Columbia government, WMATA, and Amtrak.

Thank you to the hundreds of artists and designers who submitted for the NoMa Underpass Competition. We received 248 submissions from 14 countries and throughout the US, as well as 32 submissions from local District of Columbia artists! Congratulations to the 10 finalists who have advanced.  Those moving into the finalist process will receive an honorarium of  $5,000 for the development and support of a final design.

Schedule (Subject to change)

Deadline for RFQ : May 9, 2014
RFQ Review: Mid- to late May
Notification of Semi-Finalist Selection: Late May to Mid-June

RFP Request issued to semi-finalists: June 2014
RFP Proposal Deadline: July 15, 2014
Finalists Selected: July 2014
Honoraria awarded: August 2014

Receipt of Final Design Proposals: October 2014
Designs Presented to Community: October 2014
Selection of Final Designs: October 2014
Presentation of Designs to Community: October 2014

For questions regarding the RFP, please contact: Carrie Cook at ccook@art4business.com or at 215-222-2200 ext. 103.

Additional Information

  • The NoMa Parks Foundation reserves the right to withdraw this RFP, initiate an alternative selection process, or re-issue the RFP at any time.
  • Participation in the RFQ or RFP processes does not imply a contract with the NoMa Parks Foundation.
  • The NoMa Parks Foundation has no responsibility for costs incurred by designer for responses to this RFP.
  • The NoMa Parks Foundation:
    • Has the right of ownership of the proposal designs selected for implementation as part of the RFP process and final projects.
    • Will be given credit during display and/or have the right to reproduce any design proposal whether selected for the final project or not.
    • Requires submitted proposals to be original designs.
  • By submitting your qualifications you are indicating your unconditional acceptance of these terms.

Click here for a printer-friendly pdf containing all this information.


View a map of the underpass locations here.



For questions regarding the RFQ, please contact: Carrie Cook at ccook@art4business.com or at 215-222-2200 Ext. 103

Translate this Page

Thank You

The NoMa Parks Foundation would like to thank the D.C. Government for providing funding for the Underpass Design Competition. Funding for the construction of the winning installations is provided through the $50 million dollar capital grant provided to the NoMa Parks Foundation. We would also like to thank the following organizations who have played a vital role in the coordination of the RFQ and RFP: DC Office of Planning, Amtrak, DDOT, WMATA, DPR and DGS.